It's my wedding after all!

…I have to have the last word!

What fun?!

So the wedding’s getting closer and my silences are stretching making me acutely aware of how the bride me is going to be oh-so-different from the me me. Confusing? Yeah I thought as much.

Anyway so here’s what get’s me typing on this sticky keyboard again. Sticky because last night I was on the phone or so long that I practically lived in my front of my laptop. Parallel entertainment.

“Isnt that sweet of them?” my mother crooned for the third time.

“hmmm,” I replied absentmindedly as I answered one more email

“They did not even attend Natasha’s wedding!” She exclaimed with awe. Natasha, my first cousin who got married a little earlier? Everybody was supposed to or was expected to attend her wedding. wealthy families throw weddings to remember, or so the crowd seems to think.

“So why are they coming to mine?” I asked, not sure of who the ‘they’ were myself.

“I dont know,” my mother said thoughtfully. At least I could give her brownie points for honesty. “Maybe because its so long since they have met the rest of the extended family. You know they have been in London for like ever!”

Ah great! At least it was clear they were not attending the wedding for anything or any reason to do with me.

“So what’s the total count now?” I asked.

“About five hundred.”

“Five hundred!” I jumped, spilling some of the coffee on the keyboard. I winced. “Mom this is supposed to be a small wedding,” IΒ  informed her exasperatedly dabbing a tissue on my ruined keyboard.

“How am I supposed to help it, if people want to come!” she said defensively. “Besides five hundred is an OK number for an Indian wedding!”

I said nothing.

“You are quite ungrateful you know,” she said after a mini pause.

“What?” I screamed flabbergasted.

“You should feel flattered that people are lining up for your wedding!” sheΒ  explained. “They did not attend any of the three weddings before yours, but they are all coming to your wedding! Does that not make you feel special?”

“I dont even know these people!” I said frustrated. “I havent met them in years and years. I dont have any feelings for them!”

“Dont say that!” my mom reprimanded aghast. “They are family!”

I sighed, “alright, maybe I am just not a people’s person.”

“As a kid, you loved having people around,” my mother replied, ” and you know its going to be fun meeting all those people after all this time. I wonder if Sheila has put on weight after her second kid…”

Big B: Wassup?

Big B is a nickname for my elder sister who assumes the dual role of an elder brother.

Me: Mom on call πŸ˜›

Big B: How boring! Do something better with your life than take calls from mom all day

Me: thanks

Big B: pleasure πŸ™‚

pause

“…and did you know that Kritika’s husband might be gay!” Mom was still on with her monologues and I was mumbling my appropriate responses at appropriate intervals. Kritika’sΒ  husband might be gay since the past ten years that they were married.

Big B: btw, do you know who’s coming to your wedding?

Me: some godforsaken long lost uncle and family from london?

Big B: Dont be silly! Chirag is coming to India to attend your wedding!

Me: I think the last time I met Chirag was like five years ago and the last time he called was to wish Dad a happy birthday!

Big B: I know! He hasnt come to India in seven years, but he is coming to your wedding!

Me: That’s good?

Big B: Of course it is! he is a great guy! We catch up almost every weekend you know. I am mighty pleased he is coming to the wedding.

Me:Β  He didnt make it to your wedding, did he?

Big B: Nope. Some visa issues and stuff.

Me: oh!

Big B: we think we might fly in together. He’s getting his wife and kid along and they have never come to India!!

Me: oh!

Big B: What’s with the monologue?

Me: no was just wondering, how come so many people I hardly know are all excited about attending my wedding!

Big B: Spoil Sport! Chirag is fun!

Me: mom thinks this uncle from London rocks!

Big B: Bull!

Me: hmmm

Big B: What’s with you?

Me: I think I am not a very people’s person…

Big B: Shut up! Just go with the flow and have fun!! its gonna be awesome.. I am so excited about your wedding!

6 Comments»

  Su wrote @

Is it really like this? You know, I just realised, paying attention to the weddings of all my friends is a great way to learn all that I need to about weddings. So if ever I am called upon to serve my country in a similar manner, I’ll know all the escape routes! πŸ˜›

  blunt edges wrote @

whoaaaaaa…500?!?!?!
even i ain’t much of a people person (maybe that explains why i always avoid visiting my relatives!)

  raingirl wrote @

500??? πŸ˜› πŸ˜› God bless you girl.. may he give you patience and calm πŸ˜‰

  bride2bee wrote @

@ Su: you might think so now. But time has different stories to tell πŸ˜›

  bride2bee wrote @

@ blunt edges : remember there is always the option of a registered marriage! works best! If you are allowed that luxury i.e

  bride2bee wrote @

@rain girl: amen πŸ˜›


Leave a Reply

