It's my wedding after all!

…I have to have the last word!

Archive for September 23, 2009

Lets talk about IT

You know what is worse than being caught by your mother-in-law, while you are making out? A ‘Bachelorette’ party comprising primarily of self-invited cousins, who want give you a ‘First night’ talk!

Yeah, yeah, yeah… IT happened to me!

We sprawled on my Bua’s rich beige carpet, clad in our ridiculous pyjamas (mine actually had  butterflies on it!) too drunk to care for the real world,  and still very very keen on finishing the endless supply of champagne and wine. I was feeling uncharacteristically thrilled at the thought of marriage and I just knew I had gulped one glass too much.

My cousins, to their credit had done nothing unexpected of them, this far . Oh Vani had invited this hot neighbor from her locality and insisted all of us try and undress him blindfolded, all the while giggling idiotically and insisting it was ‘Just a game!’. And surprisingly enough my eldest cousin Tara, who is a mother of two teenage sons, had him undressed in less than sixty seconds. Or maybe its not all that surprising, considering the experience she must have garnered in a house full of men.

But given the occasion, I had expected some embarrassing absurdities as such and was really really relieved that nothing terribly horrible had transpired. I was basking in the knowledge of the night securely winding to a close when Tara said, “Since I am the eldest and by that count..err.. umm.. ah the most experienced one too. I think I have to sit you down and talk to you about THE FIRST NIGHT.”

When nobody replied to her statement, I looked away from my glass and frowned at Tara. She was talking to me?

*gulp* about THE FIRST NIGHT??!!!

Oh horror!

“Oh dont worry so much,” Ayesha who had been married for six months now chirped in, “Its no biggie.”

“You would know!” Shalini said offended that someone should not think much of THE FIRST NIGHT. “You were hardly a virgin when you got married!”

How is one ever ‘hardly a virgin’? Either you are a virgin or you are not!

“THE FIRST NIGHT is very special,” Shalini insisted. “It is when you truly shed all your inhibitions and surrender completely to the one man who has the right to see you naked!”

“Brilliant!” Ayesha applauded sarcastically, “Now she really has nothing to fear, except, oh well except embarking on a new journey as a sex slave!”

Was it the wine?

“This is MY talk?” Tara reminded the room through gritted teeth. “THE FIRST NIGHT,” she said looking straight at me, “Can actually be quite scary!”

“Oh come on!” Ayesha groaned. A few other murmured and moaned.

“Excuse me?” Tara defended herself, “considering my first night was the first time I EVER saw a man naked…”

I did not want to imagine or think about Tara’s husband without his clothes!!! I took another strong swig of my wine and determinedly kept all unwanted thoughts at bay.

But I had to admit; Tara’s husband without clothes was a scary thought.

“I remember,” Vani giggled.

What? She remembered Tara’s husband without clothes?

Tara must’ve had the same thought for she was glowering at Vani. Vani did notice or care. “The first time I saw a man’s pinky,” A man’s pinkie??!! For crying out loud!!! “It was pretty gross. I remember thinking it looked like dried and shriveled Dates!”

Groan! Yuck!

Some laughter floated around. “I kept telling myself,” Chanda the romantic heroine confessed, “That a tiny something was going to come out from all those folds and go ‘boo!'”

“Oh something did come out of folds, didnt it,” Ayesha laughed wickedly.

I just kept drinking. I needed to pass out.

“The point though is not about what it looks like,” Tara reminded everybody, “we have to tell her about what it does!”

No!!! I pleaded silently. I KNEW what IT does. I did not need their thoughts and experience enriched narratives on the topic. I drank some more wine. I had to pass out any minute now. Please!!!

“Its painful at first,” Tara said reinforcing the convention, “but its ok later on!”

‘”Its more than ok!” Ayesha insisted. “Its absolutely fantastic!”

“Ayesha sometimes you talk like a sex crazy bitch!” Neela who had been quite for this long and who also was the only unmarried woman in the room, other than me, said with some sort of an wed wonder twinkling in her eye.

Ayesha shrugged but said nothing.

“Dont fill her head with stupid ideas,” Vani warned Ayesha.

I just drank some more.

” keep the room as dark as you can,” Tara offered helpfully. “That way you wont get put off by anything you see!”

” Does he turn you on?” Ayesha asked leaning towards me. I spluttered on my drink.

“Of course he does!” Vani looked at Ayesha warningly.

“Have you guys kissed yet?” Neela wanted to know.

“The tongue in cheek kiss?” Ayesha added helpfully.

“Nobody kisses tongue in cheek!” Tara said horrified.

“Just because you dont,” Ayesha replied, ” does not mean others dont like it!”

“You like it?” Vani asked mystified.

“Yes!” Ayesha confirmed.

“Will you show me?” Vani asked tentatively. My eyes widened horrified. Ayesha looked at Vani skeptically. She then shrugged and said, “Why not?”

Thankfully I passed out!!!!